Tumamoc Hill Advisory Council

The Tumamoc Hill Advisory Council, chaired by Russell Long, was established in 2016. An esteemed group of over 10 individuals from the University of Arizona, Tucson community, and international scientific community advises the Director of the Desert Laboratory on Tumamoc Hill on future directions and initiatives.

Council Members

  • Russell Long, Council Chair, Long Realty Company
  • Brooks Jeffrey, PhD, Associate Vice President for Research, Office for Research, Innovation & Impact (RII), University of Arizona
  • Deborah Goldberg, PhD, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor Emerita and Margaret B. Davis Distinguished University Professor Emerita of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Michigan
  • Edith Lowell, Community member and grand daughter of Godfrey Sykes
  • Exequiel Ezcurra, PhD, Professor, Deptartment of Botany & Plant Sciences, University of California, Riverside
  • Gary Nabhan, PhD,, PW.K. Kellogg Chair in Southwest Borderlands Food and Water Security, Southwest Center, University of Arizona
  • Jim Cook, Chief Executive Officer, Western National Parks Association
  • Joaquin Ruiz, PhD, Vice President for Global Environmental Futures, Office for Research, Innovation & Impact (RII), University of Arizona
  • Jonathan Mabry, PhD, Director, Tucson City of Gastronomy and Associated Researcher, Desert Laboratory on Tumamoc Hill 
  • Julie Katsel, Senior Director, Government Relations / Local and Community, Government & Community Relations, University of Arizona
  • Larry Venable, PhD, Director of Research, Desert Laboratory; Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Arizona
  • N. Levi Esquerra (Chemehuevi), Senior Vice President for Native American Advancement and Tribal Engagement
  • Dr. Ronald Spark, Community member
  • Sarah Smallhouse, Thomas R. Brown Foundations
  • Shannon Plummer, Interim Arizona Antiquities Act Administrator, Arizona State Museum